Japanese title: モーニング刑事。~抱いてHOLD ON ME!~
Romaji title: MOONINGU KOPPU. ~daite HOLD ON ME!~
English title: Morning Cop. -Hold me, Hold on me!-

Release date: 1998.09.30

Catalog nr: EPCE-5006
Label: zetima

First press: unknown

«Morning Cop -Daite Hold on Me» is the soundtrack to the movie of the same name. The movie stars Michiyo Heike and Morning Musume.

Hiromi Yanagihara also has a small part in this movie. She had not yet become a part of H!P when starring in this movie. She would go on to join Country Musume after passing their audition in April the following year.

The plot of the movie is that Michiyo is getting big in the idol business! She has recently appeared on the cover of the Lovely magazine, and her fan-mail bags are getting bigger and bigger. However, she’s also getting some creepy mail, until the point where it’s obvious she’s got a dangerous stalker preying her. The police seems useless in protecting her from the stalker, and so Morning Musume must take it upon their own hands to keep her safe!

The title is a pun. 刑事 (keiji) means police or detective, but is (for this movie) pronounced as «KOPPU», which sounds like the English slang word for police. (In the movie, Abe looks at a coffe cup, saying they should be called MOONINGU KOPPU investigating Heike’s stalker).

Screenshots from the movie

Screenshots from the movie

The album has six tracks sung by Heike and/or Morning Musume. Included are «Dakedo Aishisugite (Mix for Screen)», which would be released as Heike’s fourth single the following month. A remix of Morning Musume’s third single (and their first #1 single), «Daite Hold on Me», also appears on the album. All the songs on the album appear in the movie.

The album sold a total of 41.330 copies, and ranked at #18 on the Oricon music charts.

Michiyo Heike said this in one of her fan club interviews (3rd Anniversary Special Interview):

FC: «What was the most painful thing during these three years?«

Heike: «Hmm, most painful? When the movie «Morning Cop» finished, Morning Musume and I were doing an event where we showed the movie, had a live, and then had a handshake event. That event was quite painful. When it was my turn to sing, most of the audience wouldn’t stand up but just sit in their seats and some would even go somewhere else. Feeling as though no one had an interest in me was really painful. At the handshake afterwards, some wouldn’t even shake my hand but just pass me by right before my eyes, so I cried every night at the hotel back then.

But then at one point, when I was singing «Hitorigurashi» [note: from her debut album, Teenage Dream] there were three people who stood up, despite everyone else sitting down, and sang along. It was then that I realized that there are people out there who knows even songs from my album, and who actually support me, and it moved me a lot. It made me so happy right in that moment that I couldn’t help but cry while I was singing. Even now I’m deeply grateful towards those three fans

Promo posters


01. だけど愛しすぎて -Mix for Screen- (Dakedo AishisugiteBut I Loved You Too Much)
02. おねがいネイル (Onegai Nail; Wishing Nail)
03. ヨロシク! (Yoroshiku!; Giving My Best Regards)
04. 恋のABC (Koi no ABC; The ABC of Love)
05. 強くならなくちゃ…ね (Tsuyoku Naranakucha… Ne; I’ve Gotta Be Strong… Right?)
06. 抱いて HOLD ON ME! ~Sexy Long version~ (Daite Hold on Me!; Hold Me, Hold on Me)


だけど愛しすぎて -Mix for Screen- (Dakedo Aishisugite -Mix for Screen-)

Lyrics: Emi Mahiko | Music & Arrangement: Hatake | Sung by: Michiyo Heike

This track would be released as Heike’s fourth single the following month after the release of the soundtrack album. The track for the single has different arrangements and is therefore entitled «Mix for Single», whereas the song used as the opening theme for «Morning Cop» is entitled «Mix for Screen».

Emi Makiho sings the background vocals to this track.


おねがいネイル (Onegai Nail)

Lyrics & Music: Tsunku | Arrangement: Yasuaki Maejima | Sung by: Michiyo Heike & Morning Musume


ヨロシク! (Yoroshiku!)

Lyrics & Music: Tsunku | Arrangement: Gou Sudo (須藤豪) | Sung by: Morning Musume

Emi Mahiko sings the background vocals to this track.


恋のABC (Koi no ABC)

Lyrics& Music: Tsunku | Arrangement: Kaoru Yamauchi (山内薫) | Sung by: Morning Musume

This song was performed live at the concert «Morning Musume Memory ~Seishun no Hikari~ 1999.4.18″


強くならなくちゃ…ね (Tsuyoku Naranakucha… Ne)

Lyrics: Emi Makiho | Music & Arrangement: Hatake | Sung by: Michiyo Heike

Emi Makiho sings the background vocals to this track.

Heike performed this song live at one of her concerts after her graduation from Hello! Project.


抱いて HOLD ON ME! ~Sexy Long version~ (Daite Hold on Me -Sexy Long Version-)

Lyrics & Music: Tsunku | Arrangement: Yasuaki Maejima | Sung by: Morning Musume

This track is the A-side to Morning Musume’s third single, which would be their first #1 single. The track is re-arranged for this soundtrack, and is 1:25 longer than the single version.

Tsunku provides the background vocals to this song.